top of page

How Azie Kitchen Won The Hearts Of Malaysian Women Through Family Recipes & Home Cooking


Haziah Jaya, famously known as Azie in her Azie Kitchen blog, was no stranger to hard work long before she became a YouTube sensation. Her online culinary prowess is undeniable. Azie spent her childhood in Kelantan watching her mother make scrumptious Kuih-Muih for chains of restaurants.


Fascinated by her mother’s skills, Azie started collecting recipes from newspapers, magazines, and friends and became enamoured with food. Being a creative and inquisitive child, she would try to recreate dishes using what she had at hand before asking her mum for help.



Cooking initially became an activity that she did occasionally due to her hectic work schedule. But all that changed in 2011 as she was ready to put on her toque (Chef’s hat) at full speed as her kids grew up and her job as a manager at Bank Negara provided her with the extra time she needed. She commenced her online journey by starting a personal blog called Azie Kitchen, and sharing her recipes she would cook for her adorable daughters.


Focusing on family recipes and home cooking, she has made her mark in Malaysia and specifically in Kelantan by posting many videos and pictures of her dishes that garner hundreds of praises from followers that crave for the authentic local-taste. Nasi Kerabu, Lompat Tikam, Ikan Cencaru Sumbat, Sambal Ikan Bilis Melaka are a few of her many famous recreations.


Don’t expect her culinary adventures to be cookie-cutter: they’re all about pushing the boundaries for what Malaysian food can be. Azie is very particular about checking measurements of all the dishes she makes. She firmly believes that the Agak-Agak (guesstimation) method is the reason why so many heirloom recipes have failed to be passed down through the generations.


She realized how she liked to share posts and recipe videos through social media and thus diversified her reach by sharing on Instagram and Facebook. Today, Azie has over 358K followers on Instagram and 169K subscribers on her Youtube channel.


Of all her achievements though, staying humble and genuine for many years has won the hearts of many netizens now. She gives back most of the money she earns through her Youtube Channel and Blog through zakat.


WOM had a chance to have a special interview with Azie and here’s how it went:


WOM: What inspired you to become a food blogger?


Azie: Since primary school, I love collecting recipes, cooking, baking and photography. Blog is the best platform for me to translate that interest to the world. What motivated me to create the blog is my children, and to have a platform for me to share my knowledge especially on religious subjects that I learnt from classes that I attended.


WOM: Tell us about your proudest achievement.


Azie: I was able to publish a very high quality bi language 2nd edition cookbook on my own which is titled “Resepi Azie Kitchen Hebat Di Dapur”. The book can be purchased directly through my Instagram Azie Kitchen or shopee. It is my dream to have my own cookbook that features my recipe collection. Besides that. my first book which was called “101 Resepi Dari Azie Kitchen” which I collaborated with a known publisher also turned out as the best-selling cook book in 2020.


WOM: What is your signature dish that best represents who you are as a cook?


Azie: I am known for Kelantanese tradisional dishes that I learnt from my late mother such as lompat tikam, nasi kerabu and laksam.


WOM: What is your favourite kitchen gadget or tool that you can’t live without?

Azie: Hahaha that would be my kitchen weight scale and measuring cup! As a food blogger, I will measure and weigh the ingredients to the exact possible so that my followers who use my recipes will be able to get the same results as mine, especially tastewise.


WOM: What was the most challenging moment in your blogging journey so far?


Azie: Previously, I was a full time career woman. So, time was the obstacle then as I had to occupy my weekends to cook for my blog update. Now that I am retired, I am able to focus and improvise my blog and Youtube presentation at my own time and pace.


WOM: Where do you hope your blog will take you in the next 5 years?


Azie: I hope my blog continues to benefit many followers and small businesses when they use my recipes at home or for their businesses. I do hope my blog can remain to be the ultimate source of reference to facilitate all the women out there in their cooking journey.


WOM: Can you tell me some of your strengths that really helped you in your blogging journey?

Azie: I am a multi-tasking person. I can do many tasks at one time. I have been managing my own blog, Youtube channel, two acebook accounts and three Instagram accounts while working at the same time! I believe managing time is the key to the success. As a perfectionist, I strive to do the best I can in whatever I do. The word “No” is never going to be in my vocabulary until I have tried and exhausted all the efforts I possibly could.


WOM: Fun question! If you have to move to a deserted island and you could only bring one ingredient with you, what would you bring?


Azie: Wheat Flour. You can survive by doing some lempeng, porridge and lots more!


WOM: Do you ever experience blogging or cooking #fail moments and what did you learn from that?

Azie: Yes, I do. Cooking requires constant practise. I always learn from my mistakes and I don’t give up easily, so I’ll always push myself until I know that I have done above my expectations!


WOM: Lastly, is there any personal message or advice that you would like to share with all the women out there in Malaysia?


Azie: Be yourself. Whatever you do, wherever you are, believe in your own capabilities. Keep striving and pursuing whatever it is that you ultimately love to do.


JUST FOR FUN THIS OR THAT TRIVIA: Which do you prefer

Nasi Minyak or Nasi Kerabu? Azie: Nasi Kerabu

Savoury or sweet?

Azie: Sweet Milo Ais or Teh Tarik?

Azie: Milo Ais Shopping or spa? Azie: Shopping Romance or comedy? Azie: Romance

Nasi or mee? Azie: Mee Pyjamas or baju kelawar? Azie: Baju Kelawar Big handbag or small? Azie: Big handbag


Original.png

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page